Canadian Magazine Industry News
26 December 2016,    
Executive Notes: It’s Awards Season in the publishing industry.

To support the publishing industry with their awards programs here is a guide to all the awards programs that are available to the publishing industry in Canada. There is a new awards program being produced by Magazazines Canada and the cancellation of the KRW Awards this year so there has been changes. (If you have an awards program or event you will like to submit send the info to

2016 CAJ Awards
The Canadian Association of Journalists is now accepting entries for the 2016 CAJ Awards program. The awards recognize outstanding storytelling among Canadian journalists, and include Canada's top investigative journalism award, the Don McGillivray Award. The fees are $110 per entry (members are $30, students $25). The deadline for entries is January 13, 2017.  Finalists will be announced by the end of March 2017, with the winners announced at the 2017 CAJ conference banquet and awards gala, scheduled for April 28-29, 2017 in Ottawa.
Twitter: @CAJ

2016 National Newspaper Awards
This award program is open to any English or French Canadian daily newspaper (whether in print, online, tablet or mobile) or an online publication.  The awards program is produced by Newspapers Canada and in its 68th year. To be eligible, an entry must have been published in 2016. The entry fee is $50 ($40 per entry for organizations on the Benefactor List. There is no entry fee in the Local Reporting category for  newspapers below 30,000 average daily circulation. Finalists will be announced in mid-March, and winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Friday, May 5, 2017, in Toronto. Entry Deadline: January 15, 2017 .
Twitter:  @NNA_CCJ

2017 National Magazine Awards
Open to Canadian magazine publishers with 25 categories. The National Magazine Awards Foundation has produced the NMA’s awards program since 1977.  Early-Bird deadline is January 13, and the final deadline is January 20 with digital January 21. Entry Cost is $95 . 
Twitter: @ magawards 

The Magazine Grands Prix (NEW)
Open to Canadian magazine publishers. The Magazine Grands Prix is a NEW awards program produced by Magazines Canada, the trade association for the magazine industry in Canada and provides 26 Award categories for consideration. The deadline for entries is January 30. Entry Cost is $100 ($50 for small publishers and freelancers). Awards Dinner and Party - April 27, 2017 during Magnet April 25-28.
Twitter: @MagGrandsPrix


Atomic Awards
The Atomic Awards produced by Strategy Magazine  recognizes the best achievements in advertising, technology, media creativity and content. AToMIC winners represent the collaborations that show the way forward in the mediascape. Entries are open to  creative , media and digital agencies plus technology platforms, developers, suppliers and media companies that highlights innovation in content models. Entries can encompass the use of branded content , new content models  and technologies that breaks new ground. Submission Deadline January 27.
Twitter: #atomic17    

2016 Canadian Community Newspaper Awards and the Great Idea Awards
The Canadian Community Newspaper Awards is available to members of the Canadian Community Newspaper Association (CCNA) that consist community publishers from across the country, with 34 categories The Great Idea Awards has 8 categories and recognize the most creative and innovative examples of newspaper marketing and promotion.  Entries must have been published between January and December 31 of each year. The entry deadline for both competitions is Tuesday, January 31.
Twitter: @newspapercanada


This annual award goes to a journalist or media worker in Canadian print, digital or broadcasting who has made a significant contribution to freedom of expression, often by standing up to government or private interests that would thwart the reporting of events or stories of significant public interest, or by advancing press freedom through the subjects he or she reports on. Institutions that work towards the same objectives may also apply or be nominated. The nomination deadline is Feb. 1, 2017.    
Twitter: @ CDN_WPF    

2017 Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards
The Canadian Journalism Foundation supports and rewards excellence with 11 awards in Canadian journalism through its annual awards program and by supporting recognition programs run by other organizations. The call for entries is January 16 with a deadline of February 24, 2017. The winners will be announced at a gala at the Fairmount Hotel on June 8.
Twitter: @CJFawards
2017 Canadian Online Publishing Awards (COPAs)
Open to any publisher in Canada in newspaper, magazine, broadcasting and digital sectors. Produced by Masthead magazine and  is the only awards program not produced by a trade association to ensure inclusivity for the whole publishing industry. The call for entries for 2017 will be May 1 with a deadline of July 14. Cost is $115 ($95 for independent publishers - <20 fulltime staff).
Twitter: @COPawards, @mastheadmag


Story Tools
Most Recent News Comment
MICKY D says:
Goodbye , Good Riddance , R.I.P, Web Offset I wish the newly Unemployed good luck with their job sea...
Most Recent Blog Comment
Marty Seto says:
Make Sure you Enter the COPAs this year. We have a FREE Covid-19 News category that is free to enter...
Martin Seto Gadget Blog
Martin Seto
Most recent posts:
Scott Bullock Covers Sell
Scott Bullock
Most recent posts:
Industry Guest Blogger Words of Inspiration
Industry Guest Blogger
Most recent posts:
Dennis Kelly 57 Media Spikes
Dennis Kelly
Most recent posts:
Norm Lourenco RGD Magazine Media Brandaid
Norm Lourenco RGD
Most recent posts:
Richard Johnson Off the Page
Richard Johnson
Most recent posts: